Cullman County Revenue Department Cullman County Water Department
Cullman County Parks and Recreation Cullman Public Library System Cullman County Road Department

Driver License Examiners Office

Alabama Law Enforcement Agency

Contact Information

Cullman County Examiners Office

Address:
500 Second Street, S.W.
Cullman, AL 35055

Phone & Fax:

Main: (256) 775-4822
CDL: (256) 775-4822
Reinstatement: N/A

Operation

Business Office Hours:

M, Tu, W, Th, F: 8am - 4:30pm
Lunch: 11:30am - 12:30pm

Information

Normally 2 examiners are testing for computer and road tests, 8 am until 11 am and 12:30 pm until 3:30 pm on a first come first serve basis. When there is only one examiner computer tests and sign up for road testing will be between 8 am until 10:30 am and 12:30 pm until 2:30 pm. You may renew online at ALEA.GOV. You may also renew Class D, Class M, Class V, or ID at the Probate Office on the first floor of the Courthouse. Due to the large number of applicants in the office, your call may not be able to be answered. For additional information you may need to come in to the office. If you are coming in just to ask a general question you may come right in and ask without taking a number.

Reinstatements

Reinstatements are done in Sheffield 256-383-9991, Huntsville 256-539-0682, Birmingham 205-252-7445 or Montgomery 334-242-4259. Appointments may be made for those offices online at ALEA.GOV. The Cullman office does not do reinstatements.

Identification Card

To obtain an Alabama Identification Card please bring the following:

  • A certified birth certificate, and
  • social security card, and
  • a third document is required such as:
    a marriage certificate
    a W-2 form
    a selective service card
    a Medicaid or Medicare card
    an old driver license
    or an ID card

To add a star on the ID card for in country flights or visiting federal property, also bring 2 documents stating address. For US veterans to add veteran to the front of the ID card, please bring a DD214 stating honorable discharge.

Learner's License

To obtain an Alabama Learners’ License please bring a certified birth certificate, social security card, and proof of school enrollment. To add a star on the Learner’s License add 2 documents stating address, these may be documents of the parents who are listed on the birth certificate.

Road Tests

Road tests are scheduled on a first come first serve basis, they will not be given in inclement weather. The following is required to be brought into the office to set up your road test time: Learners’ license, the driver license of the driver with tester, tag receipt, and proof of insurance. 16 year olds must have a guardian with them to sign giving permission to obtain a driver license. Keep in mind that 17 year olds’ and under must have a learners’ license for at least 6 months before obtaining a driver license. To add the star on the driver license for in country flights or visiting federal property, please bring a certified birth certificate, social security card, and 2 documents stating address.

SDE Certificates

SDE certificates issued at the high school from the drivers’ education program will exempt the applicant from the driver test. You are still required to bring learner’s license and 16 year olds will need a guardian for permission to obtain a driver license. Keep in mind that 17 years olds’ and under must have a learners’ license for at least 6 months before obtaining a driver license. To add a star on the driver license for in country flights or visiting federal property, please bring a certified birth certificate, social security card, and 2 documents stating address.

Boat or Motorcycle License

To obtain a boat or motorcycle license, a test is required, in lieu of a test, a certificate showing completion and passing of testing at an approved site for motorcycle, or on-line for boats, is acceptable. To add the star on the motorcycle license for in country flights or visiting federal property, also bring a certified birth certificate, social security card and 2 documents stating address. The star cannot be placed on a vessel only license. For US veterans to add veteran to the front of the motorcycle or boat license, please bring a DD214 stating honorable discharge.

License Transfer

To transfer a license from out of state to Alabama, please bring the current driver license, social security card, and a certified birth certificate or US passport. To add a star on the Alabama driver license for in country flights or visiting federal property, also bring 2 documents stating address. For US veterans to add veteran to the front of the driver license, please bring a DD214 stating honorable discharge

To transfer a commercial driver license from out of state to Alabama, please bring the current commercial driver license, DOT medical card, social security card, and a certified birth certificate or US passport. To add a star on the Alabama commercial driver license for in country flights or visiting federal property, also bring 2 documents stating address. For US veterans to add veteran to the front of the commercial driver license, please bring a DD214 stating honorable discharge. If you would like the hazardous materials endorsement to be transferred or added to the commercial driver license the test must be taken. A fingerprint and background check must be passed.

Commercial Driver Permit

To obtain a commercial driver permit, please bring a current Alabama driver license and DOT medical card. The commercial driver permit must be kept for at least 2 weeks before skills testing. The skills tests may be scheduled in the state office or on the state website of A-L-E-A.GOV. To add a star on the commercial permit, for in country flights or visiting federal property, also bring a certified birth certificate or US passport, social security card and 2 documents stating address. For US veterans to add veteran to the front of the commercial license, please bring a DD214 stating honorable discharge.

The fee for a Class D License, permit or ID card is $36.25, all duplicates are $31.25. A 5 dollar fee is required for testing for learners’ license, motorcycle or vessel with a duplicate fee, or renewal fee, whichever applies. The transfer fee is $41.25 for a regular Class D license. The transfer fee for a commercial driver license is $91.25 for Class A, $81.25 for Class B, and $61.25 for Class C. The fee for commercial driver license computer test is $25.00, to repeat the test if failed, a $15.00 fee is charged for each attempt after the first. Once the test is passed the fee for the permit is $36.25. The fee for the skills test for commercial drivers’ license is $20.00 to schedule the test. The fee for commercial license are Class A $66.25 Class B $56.25 and the Class C $36.25.